Readers & Friends


"Signing In" American Women Writers

AWWNM is proud to receive from Dr. Sylvia E. Furner, a donation of signatures of five iconic American women writers from an extensive collection of her late husband James M. Furner.

(Click on any image to view original size)

PEARL S. BUCK (1892-1977) Novelist
First American woman winner of Nobel Prize (1938)
Pulitzer Prize (1932)

EDNA FERBER (1885-1968) Novelist, playwright (Pulitzer Prize (1924)

MARGARET MEAD (1901-1978)
Cultural anthropologist
(*note very tiny signature in bottom margin of photo)




GLORIA STEINEM (1934- ) Journalist, Co-founder Ms. magazine, activist, feminist

LILLIAN HELLMAN (1905-1984) Playwright, Academy Award nominee (1943) Screenplay

American Women Writers National Museum
PO Box 22365
Houston, Texas 77227-2365

[Home] [Events/Calendar] [In the media] [State-Meant 50 4 U] [Book Faces] [News & Updates] [Invites]
AWWNM's awesome speakers] [Contribute/Fundraising] [Asking the experts] [Readers & Friends] [Who are they?]